Stress!

Hello reader, are you stressed out? I know I sure am. There’s a lot going on in life and when it all clumps together at once you kinda start to freak out. But don’t worry! Things will get better. How do you deal with it in the meantime though? Read on! I may be able to help you.

My three suggestions will be about first hand experiences of maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

My first suggestion is to make sure you are getting a good nights sleep. Getting a healthy amount of sleep will help clear your mind and will help you focus on tasks to come. Last year I would get about 4 hours of sleep a night because I was so overwhelmed with homework. This year I still have a lot of homework but since I’ve started sleeping better (7 hours) I find I can focus and work a lot more efficiently. Be sure to get those Z’s!

Suggestion number two. Meditate. Probably sounds silly I know, but hear me out. I find that meditating works almost as a little “restart”. Go to a quiet place, get seated in a comfortable position and focus on proper breathing. Clear your mind and think about nothing except your breathing. Imagine a vase filling with air with every inhale, letting the air swirl around, and then depleting of air as you exhale. Do this until you’ve found yourself to be relaxed and calm.

My final suggestion is physical exercise. There are two forms of this that I want to suggest. The first is stretching. Stretching is a fantastic way of relieving stress. Simply try doing the splits. Go as far as you can and just hold the position. Rest your hands on the ground if you need to. My other form of this suggestion is to workout. Find somewhere that you can train, be that at a gym or at home. Create a routine and stick to it. Any frustration or anger you have, funnel it out through raw energy. My school has a punching bag in its fitness centre and I find that great. I get to take out all of my anger on the bag.

Anyway, that’s all I have to say for this post. Hopefully I’ve helped you help yourself with some of this advice. Stress sucks so lets get rid of it. Who needs it? Not us!

’til next time!

– John

Leave a comment